User Tools

Site Tools


Past Shows


Flosscars 2008

Flosscars are our annual awards for acting, failing to act, writing, failing to write, and generally anything we feel deserves an award at the time. Feel free to browse our archives of Flosscars in years gone past as well as using this page in Trinity of each year to nominate and vote for that year's Flosscars!

Prev | 2008 | Next

Best Hero

Nominees :

  • Ashley Ridgeway for Aladdin
  • Alex Craven for Dr Watson (Or Doctor Doctor, if you're being strictly technical…)
  • rk hughes (hertford) for Aeneas

Winner : Jon Foulds for Sherlock Holmes

Best Heroine

Nominees :

  • Lotty for Violet
  • Lotty for Queen Dido of Carthage
  • rk hughes (hertford) for Maid

Winner : Lotty for Princess Jasmine

Best Sidekick

Nominees :

  • Dan Artus (Regent's Park) for Achates
  • Seb for Wishee Washee

Winner : Alex for Dr Watson

Best Villain

Nominees :

  • Kate Morris (St Hildas) for Queen Victoria
  • Rhos Beckwith for Illioneus

Winner : Laith for Abanazer

Beyond the Call of Duty

Nominees :

  • Kate Morris (St Hildas) for Destroying her knees in the Wadham Chapel for the greater glory of OULES in Holmes.
  • Perry Hartland-Asbury (Mansfield) for Dying on stage but continuing to be King Priam without so much as a single pause.

Winner : Nick for Standing in and learning a significantly large part in one evening in Holmes.

Best Impression of an Animal by an Animal

Nominees :

  • Monty for Camel
  • Monty for Trojan Horse

Winner : Monty for Elephantine Hordes of Carthage

Best Line

Nominees :

Winner : Jon for It's a honey badger

Best Ad-Lib

Nominees :

  • Phil Scott for Magical Shepherd stories.
  • Mariel Harrison (St Hilda's) for Ulysses improvising.

Winner : Alex and Jon for Rolling various corpses around stage, 'A well-rolled corpse yields more clues'

'Ooh, you lovey!' (Person with actual acting talent in a minor part)

Nominees :

Winner : Phil Scott for Fetish

Best Snog

Nominees :

  • Jon and Jacob for Various points in time.
  • Seb and Cass for Wishee Washee and Esmerelda.
  • Seb and Rhos for Wishee Washee and Splishee Sploshee

Winner : Rory Morrison (Mansfield) and Liina for Cheese and Cheese Grater in Hades

Best Play

Nominees :

  • the marvellous writer types at Pennand for Aladdin
  • William Minter (Wadham) for The Body in the Parlour
  • Jon Foulds and Iona for The Aeneid or 'A funny thing happened on the way to Rome'

Winner : Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Inanimate Body

Best Song

Nominees :

  • One Day More
  • 40 Pirates / thieves for Pointless Song (Aladdin)
  • 'It's the Fairytale ending that counts…'

Winner : Laith for Fluffy Kitens (Aladdin)

Best Cock-Up

Nominees :

Winner : Lavinia's head bursting and its subsequent replacement with the Carthaginian blogosphere.

Best inanimate object

Nominees :

  • Iona and Cass for Corpse
  • Skeletons

Winner : Rory Morrison (Mansfield) and Liina for Cheese and Cheese-Grater (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Rome)

Best Caricature of Self

Nominees :

  • Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for Sally the squirrel
  • Jon for Sherlock Holmes

Winner : Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for Sally the mysterious and terrifying Assassin

Best Speech

Nominees :

  • Jon for Home Office Complicity Speech

Winner : Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for General squirrel-related ramblings

Best Person as an animal

Nominees :

Winner : Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for Squirrel

Best Costume

Nominees :

  • Kiss Cerberus
  • Jon for Multiple capes + deerstalkers
  • Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for her tail

Winner : Masking tape skeletons

Best Couple

Nominees :

  • Watson and Holmes
  • Doctor Who and Doctor Watson
  • Oscar Wilde and Eric the Stable Boy
  • Fetish and Mrs Gristle
  • Aladdin and Jasmime
  • Aeneas and Dido
  • Twanky and Abanazer
  • Wishee Washee and Esmerelda
  • Wishee Washee and Splishee Sploshee

Winner : Cheese and Cheese Grater

The Tom Reynolds Spurious Accent Award

Nominees :

  • Trojan Shepherds for Implacable Accent
  • William Minter (Wadham) for writing the play (A Mystery in the Parlour)

Winner : William Minter (Wadham) for His Entire cast (A Mystery in the Parlour)

The Sally Outen Award for Most Gloriously Surreal Moment

Nominees :

Winner : Sally Outen (Ex-Worcester) for Transformation from a Squirrel into a Dinosaur

Best portrayal as a member of the opposite sex

Nominees :

  • Laith for Juno
  • Ashley for Aladdin
  • rk hughes (hertford) for Aeneas

Winner : Perry Hartland-Asbury (Mansfield) for Widow Twankey

Dan R for Mrs Gristle

flosscars/2008.txt · Last modified: 2018/04/13 17:25 by lily